Posted by: nedlnthred | November 25, 2016

We Give Thanks

11141170_10153352833263865_6259184469642981686_n

I’m writing on American Thanksgiving Day. So allow me to cut from all the random stuff that is spinning in my back brain to a simpler message. I thank you all for reading this.

The pic above is my family of birth, the McMahons of Akron, Catonsville, and myself, from Orange. And Amanda’s mom, Karen Sodoma. The cool thing about this picture is that the food hasn’t been served yet. Because it’s about the people. No matter how good turkey and stuffing is, how well the gravy came out or didn’t, who made which pies, it’s about the people we have in our lives. To love and be loved, that is the gift.

Very snow covered car, viewed from warm and toasty home

Very snow covered car, viewed from warm and toasty home

Please don’t misunderstand. I have so many things to be thankful for, and I know it. They include having a network to fall back upon when things aren’t good. That network, especially my supportive family, means that I still have a house, food to eat, oil to heat my house, a car that’s safe to drive, my mental health.

 

FIT Illustration students, painting the wall on 28th street

FIT Illustration students, painting the wall on 28th street

I have a good job that I mostly love. That allows me to work with some of the most talented people in the world, and some of the coolest materials, in the most interesting city. That gives me terrific health care, and the support to get through some very rough times.

 

14923072_10210455051867564_18184165_o

Bill McMahon, ready to watch a playoff game, 2016

But what I am most thankful for is the amazing groups of people I have had the privilege to spend gobs of my free time with. Some of them are in that picture above. My brother is one of the kindest, funniest men I know, which he got from my father, one of the quirkiest, and my mother, one of the most giving.

 

I am lucky to also have a family of choice which includes some of the funniest, most sane, most creative men and women I have ever met. I know, I know, I talk about them all the time. But they are worth mentioning again.

 

 

11051737_10152896243073865_4589741941189665624_n-2

Here they are again, in all of their awesomeness. That’s Kasia, Dan, Julie, Heidi, Linda, Tori, Rae, Dave, Nasir, Shara, Paul, Mary, (me), Kris, Nancy, & Nicole. And more showed up that night, helping me celebrate my fiftieth birthday.

We’ve had some other pretty fab occasions, too. Here’s Susan’s wedding, just a group shot of us chicks…

12027171_10153254470153865_5254570305790633716_o.jpg

Yeah, I know. We kill us! We do laugh at each other’s jokes a lot, making everything both self-referential, an in joke, and probably a bit ludicrous to the rest of you. But we are having your fun for you, anyway. We noticed it just sitting there, so we just grabbed it.

Happy Thanksgiving! Spent with Shara and Nas, xxoo

Happy Thanksgiving! Spent with Shara and Nas, xxoo

 

 

I hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful!

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings

thinking aloud about.........well stuffs

CrossKnit

Gauge as Rx'ed

National Portrait Gallery blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Camera Picta

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Schaeffer Arts

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

earlymodernjohn

History Written Cheap

Portfolio: Vika Grigina z Prahy

Being a compendium of works gathered by the Friends of Vika.

Eva's historical costuming blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Vika's Vexatious Vestments

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

A Study in Textiles

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

The Seventeenth Century Lady

Thy source for the A-Z of 17th-century history!

Clothing the Low Countries

Researching & Re-creating Flemish and Netherlandish clothing from 1480-1620

Fashioning Nostalgia

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Whatever

READING MURDER BOOKS AND TRYING TO STAY HIP

Fashion, Textile & Costume Librarians

An ARLIS/NA Special Interest Group Blog

Diversity at FIT

An inclusive, multicultural community

Sarah A Bendall

A blog about "deform'd" fashions from a phd researcher

Threading Through Time

The trials and tribulations of an over-enthusiastic seamstress learning to create period-correct historical items and fashions

