Posted by: nedlnthred | September 20, 2016

Take Big Bites!

mad-sq-eats-opening-day1

Madison Square Eats

Many of you who know me know that I’m a bit of a hedonist. I love good food and drink. I’m not picky about where I get it, but I’m kinda picky that it be freshly made and a rich combination of flavors. Or even just an excellent single one (see the chicken skewers at Yakitori Totto, OMG! Or my complete smug satisfaction with a hunk of meat from a grill: be it chicken, beef, pork, or, ideally, fresh fish. NOM.) I stopped there weekly when the food stands were there this spring, and I know, *know* the best burger I have ever had was the lamb burger with blue cheese and pickled red onions I got from… Errr, I don’t remember  >*(

madsqeats-fall

Therefore it gives me great pleasure to celebrate the return of Madison Square Eats, that happy band of street food vendors that I waxed poetic about this past spring (maybe just to friends, but you know who you are!) (And I really meant it!) You see, the thing is that I pass through here on my way to my allergist every Monday evening. Late enough that it would be nice to have dinner before I get home, not after. And it’s not a great food neighborhood otherwise, especially if one is on a budget.

Tonight’s tasty dinner was a small bowl from Gotham Poke’. I’ve been jonesing for fresh seafood since I left Surf City Wednesday morning, and this was a nice catchup. I had the small bowl of spicy tuna the Gotham Grain Blend, which was rich, nutty, and savory. (I saved the rest so I could eat it with my lunch tomorrow.) It was cheap, healthy, and delicious.

Oh, and let me not leave out that there are multiple vendors of beers, wines, and sangrias! Huzzah! Grownup drinks for this grownup woman who is out on a lovely evening after a long day of work!

sangrias-mad-sq

I can’t wait to see how my food adventure is next Monday!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings

thinking aloud about.........well stuffs

CrossKnit

Gauge as Rx'ed

National Portrait Gallery blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Camera Picta

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Schaeffer Arts

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

earlymodernjohn

History Written Cheap

Portfolio: Vika Grigina z Prahy

Being a compendium of works gathered by the Friends of Vika.

Eva's historical costuming blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Vika's Vexatious Vestments

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

A Study in Textiles

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

The Seventeenth Century Lady

Thy source for the A-Z of 17th-century history!

Clothing the Low Countries

Researching & Re-creating Flemish and Netherlandish clothing from 1480-1620

Fashioning Nostalgia

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Fashion, Textile & Costume Librarians

An ARLIS/NA Special Interest Group Blog

Diversity at FIT

An inclusive, multicultural community

Sarah A Bendall

A blog about "deform'd" fashions from a phd researcher

Threading Through Time

The trials and tribulations of an over-enthusiastic seamstress learning to create period-correct historical items and fashions

