Posted by: nedlnthred | October 26, 2015

Just Do It.

12036962_10153300756728865_6272182270916949903_n

HELPING.

For many years I have worked to figure out what the hell I’m “supposed” to be doing with myself, my life, my free time.  I’ve got that thing going on where I work at something all day, then come home and what’s left is a weird combination of my *actual* career and free time, whatever that really is.  Lately what that is has been an ABD life with a dissertation hanging over my head, providing ready-made guilt as needed.

But today someone posted this on his feed:

http://markmanson.net/passion?utm_campaign=mmnet-newsletter-2015-10-22&utm_medium=email&utm_source=mmnet-newsletter

beth stitching german

The Endless Sleeves!! Working at Black Gryphon Inn. Photo courtesy of David DeVito.

Oh, right.  What do I do in my free time?  I make reproduction clothes.  I stitch things with gorgeous fabrics because it gives me joy.  I organize time with friends so we can do this together.  Right.  Duh.

I want to get the dissertation done, but it turns out that the thing I blurted out years and years ago to a coworker is still right:  I want a life where I can spend some of my time teaching these techniques, some of my life researching and writing, and some of my time making things.  Weirdly enough, I have kinda made that.  Hell, lately I’ve essentially been writing for a living, see this:

gorey just writer

Illustration by the amazing Edward Gorey, ganked from an internet meme. As one does.

http://blog.fitnyc.edu/volumesandissues/ 

You can love the life you’re living, or live the life you love.

But also, Everything I need, I have right here.

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings

thinking aloud about.........well stuffs

CrossKnit

Gauge as Rx'ed

National Portrait Gallery blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Camera Picta

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Schaeffer Arts

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

earlymodernjohn

History Written Cheap

Portfolio: Vika Grigina z Prahy

Being a compendium of works gathered by the Friends of Vika.

Eva's historical costuming blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Vika's Vexatious Vestments

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

A Study in Textiles

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

The Seventeenth Century Lady

Thy source for the A-Z of 17th-century history!

Clothing the Low Countries

Researching & Re-creating Flemish and Netherlandish clothing from 1480-1620

Fashioning Nostalgia

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Fashion, Textile & Costume Librarians

An ARLIS/NA Special Interest Group Blog

Diversity at FIT

An inclusive, multicultural community

Sarah A Bendall

A blog about "deform'd" fashions from a phd researcher

Threading Through Time

The trials and tribulations of an over-enthusiastic seamstress learning to create period-correct historical items and fashions

