Posted by: nedlnthred | February 16, 2015

Side step, to speak about love, free time, and odd hobbies

I will now honor Jeanne Berke’s Valentine’s Day request with some thoughts on my longtime love, the Society for Creative Anachronism.

http://sca.org

When I was a freshman in college, I came across a flyer for a medieval feast sponsored by this group and organized by a man named Owen from CT. I’d never heard of them, but I had been in love with sixteenth-century English clothing for years, and was intrigued that there might be a place that would encourage me to make and wear these.

60444_430920066481_6875660_n

 

But as I got involved, there was much more to the Game than a place to dress up. I had never met a more welcoming group of smart, kind, & creative people who welcomed utter strangers into their homes, helped with projects, & were as curious as I was. And I discovered that I. too, believed in their (Victorian) ideals of chivalry & courtesy, & I wanted to make these happen in real life as well. The game and the people in it have given my love back thousandfold in the form of most of the happiest moments of my life, as well as bringing me some of the dearest people in my life.  This really is the best Game in the entire world.  

172153_137178313011902_4632403_o

 

 

 

The late-night hanging out after my first event, Northwoods Twelfth Night (1983), where Owen and I and a few other newbies planned our first event. Which turned into a Shakespeare-themed event April 23, 1983, to which I dragged Emilysue Reichardt and at which I met Lorenzo of the Peacemakers and Lou Kruzy (later Baron BMDL) and Andrew, my longtime college boyfriend.

Being asked to help with a Bronzino-type dress for the Queen by Carla Horan and Maria Knox, and the subsequent mad trip to Kalamazoo in a blizzard while sick as a dog with my BGSU pals in Feb. 1986.

breezeway sew 2014

 

The Robert Burns nights at the Caer in Kent, with my bf Andrew, Greg Frankhouser, and Rufus the Short. And a later one where the king & queen, Alen & Isabella crashed the party with Baron Charly and his wife, and my dear friend Mary. I met my first Laurel, Roen la Dentelliere, there.

Being welcomed to Ostgardr by Steve Schwall and K.C., through whom I met another love of my life, Cye Lambert, and another dear man, Paul Hilts. And the shenanigans of getting K.C. to *her* elevation at C.W Post.

The awesome creative energy of our group of friends in Ostgardr, including Veda Crewe, Paul Hilts, Sondra Venable, Argyle Wolf-Knapp, Cye Lambert, Helen Pinto, and Ed Morrill. We all tried out a little of every art and fed each other’s ideas constantly.
  306399_234257889972555_1372929354_n
Falling in love with the only man who ever convinced me to marry him, Edward Morrill, and the adventures in and of Laurelwood, our group in Queens (consisting of Argyle, Sonfra, Helen, Ed and myself.) Good food, good wine, great road trips!
In the immortal words of Hope Scheimer, the “40 Men Robbing a Bank” shenanigans of my own elevation to the Laurel, and the many awesome people who played a part, including many of the above, but also Cindy Connolly/Saebhoc, Jehan de la Marche, Katherine Gillesfleur, Tsuranaga & Genevieve, and more.
The priceless moments at our engagement party at Pennsic where Ed and Laurelen spent being old Jewish dukes at one another.
The evening, after a day of trouble between king and Pennsic staff (of which Ogami and Yoshitsuni were part), where Yoshitsuni went down on his knees in front of Ogami and (king forgotten), offering up himself, only to be sent out to vigil.
The elevations of two of i Sebastiani under the reign of Bjorn & Morgan, one deliciously silly, with Earl Sebastion’s wreath of vegetables, cabbage at front, and the other where the story of Daphne & Apollo was acted out as the ceremony, and the wreath pulled from the “tree’s” hands to crown the candidate.
The way that Manfred von Halstern and his wife Kamilla von Anderlecht, welcomed me into roadtrips and family occasions once I got divorced and was a bit adrift elsewhere and -how.
vh dynasty
The events that Victoria Swann detailed where we spent months or weeks plotting the elevations of my ‘prenti, and nailed the candidates with utter surprise. And the assistance and co-plotting of queens Meirwen Uerch Owein and Brenwen the Fair in the cases of Tofi and Susan Taksa O’Dee. But I would add the plotting and afterparty of Hedewigis Ockenfussin to those notable events. In order to not blow the surprise, we had to let Hedewigis Ockenfussin cater her own afterparty.
988309_4923182217492_2026810868_n
Add to those every moment spent around a fire at the Pennsic War, every friend made (you know who you are!), every apprentice taken, every class taught and taken, every weekend of hanging out and sewing,
168716_491425084299_5922891_n
every movie watched and commented on with these friends, and every stitch and roadtrip taken or spreadsheet set up with and for these friends.

1533907_10152174500937472_1791226931_n


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings

thinking aloud about.........well stuffs

CrossKnit

Gauge as Rx'ed

National Portrait Gallery blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Camera Picta

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Schaeffer Arts

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

earlymodernjohn

History Written Cheap

Portfolio: Vika Grigina z Prahy

Being a compendium of works gathered by the Friends of Vika.

Eva's historical costuming blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Vika's Vexatious Vestments

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

A Study in Textiles

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

The Seventeenth Century Lady

Thy source for the A-Z of 17th-century history!

Clothing the Low Countries

Researching & Re-creating Flemish and Netherlandish clothing from 1480-1620

Fashioning Nostalgia

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

Fashion, Textile & Costume Librarians

An ARLIS/NA Special Interest Group Blog

Diversity at FIT

An inclusive, multicultural community

Sarah A Bendall

A blog about "deform'd" fashions from a phd researcher

Threading Through Time

The trials and tribulations of an over-enthusiastic seamstress learning to create period-correct historical items and fashions

