Posted by: nedlnthred | May 15, 2014

Rather, the Keyboard’s Excellency

I thought it might help me to begin using this as a place to write out thoughts and frustrations while I’m actually working on my thesis.  No one has ever done *that* before, have they…  But that’s ok, I’m smarter and funner than 2/3 of them, and the rest will find me a kindred spirit, and that’s no bad thing.

Here is the problem I’m having.  Well, one of them.  My job is eating my branes.  Then, because I’m getting so much flack from it, I’m coming home and drinking more than is good for me.  Which, of course, eats away at the very small kernel of ambition I had left.  Wasn’t much there.  No, wait, there’s enough ambition there to make me pretty damn pissed off that I’m still working as staff in the world’s least-academic library, instead of being routinely called for quotes on fashion, Tudor History and theory about everything.

The only way out is through.  The only way to convince my advisor (who is mostly a lovely man) that I’m not a lightweight is to do what I said I was going to do.  I have a great outline.  Now I just have to read thousands and thousands of pages, digest it, and say brilliant things about it all.  How the hell am I going to find the time to do that?

Problem 1a:  I need to skim the entire Letters & Papers of Henry VIII.  All 37 volumes of it.  Argh!  Problem 1b: The NYPL has a set, but I cannot seem to get my ass there on either evening or weekend time.  So I either have to find a set that’s in a library that can be taken out, or pull together a better strategy for getting out of the house on non-work days.  And I have to schedule time to read.  Believe it or not, I hate reading nonfiction.  No, really, I do!

I will visit again tomorrow, dear Reader.

Sincerely, Frustrated Graduate Student who Also Works Full Time

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings

thinking aloud about.........well stuffs

CrossKnit

Gauge as Rx'ed

National Portrait Gallery blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Camera Picta

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Schaeffer Arts

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

earlymodernjohn

History Written Cheap

Portfolio: Vika Grigina z Prahy

Being a compendium of works gathered by the Friends of Vika.

Eva's historical costuming blog

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Vika's Vexatious Vestments

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

A Study in Textiles

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

The Seventeenth Century Lady

Thy source for the A-Z of 17th-century history!

Clothing the Low Countries

Researching & Re-creating Flemish and Netherlandish clothing from 1480-1620

Fashioning Nostalgia

De Pinnulis et Palmaris

Whatever

I'M STARING AT THE ASPHALT WONDERING WHAT'S BURIED UNDERNEATH

Fashion, Textile & Costume Librarians

An ARLIS/NA Special Interest Group Blog

Diversity at FIT

An inclusive, multicultural community

Sarah A Bendall

A blog about "deform'd" fashions from a phd researcher

Threading Through Time

The trials and tribulations of an over-enthusiastic seamstress learning to create period-correct historical items and fashions

